What You Need to Know Before Travelling to Europe

You may have heard that the European Union (EU) lifted its travel ban on several countries effective July 1. The new regulations are a recommendation by the EU to their member states but don’t apply to all of the countries automatically. Here’s what you need to know before travelling to Europe.

Who Does This Affect?

The EU recommended the lifting of travel restrictions on 15 countries as of today. Of course, the list could change. The countries whose nationals will be allowed to enter Europe are:

  • Algeria
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay
  • China *subject to confirmation of reciprocity

How Did The EU Decide The List of Countries?

The EU said that it decided the list of exempted countries, and will make future exemptions based on the following criteria: 

  • the number of new COVID-19 cases over the last 14 days
  • the overall trend of COVID-19 cases
  • government handling of the crisis

Which Countries Have Changed Their Restrictions?

As stated above, the new travel restrictions are only a recommendation and there are some countries in the EU who haven’t changed theirs yet. Also, some EU member states have removed the travel restrictions but still have a mandatory quarantine period.

Before travelling be sure to check the official European Union website for up-to-date information.

Europe has had a lot of success in their fight against the COVID-19 virus and is one of the first areas to open to international travel. Travel restrictions around the world will change on a regular basis during the pandemic, but as of now, this is what you need to know before travelling to Europe.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *